Tie Flumes and Old Campsites

Tie Flumes and Old Campsites

Many old logging camps stand as mute testimony to the tie-hacking days.  Little remains of the logging camps due to weathering of the old buildings.  However, many artifacts of the tie cutting days are still to be found at old sites.  The oldest camps were established in 1914.  Up until 1913, colorless glass was manufactured with an impurity that resulted in its turning purple after years of exposure to sunlight.  The earliest tie camps can be dated by fragments of glass that have turned purple form 90 years of exposure to the sun on the trash heaps near the camps.  Other artifacts to be found in the tie camps are cross-cut saws and broad axes.  Most people are familiar with cross-cut saws as they are still occasionally used.  But, the broad axe has long since passed from use and become an antique.